Daily Archives: January 17, 2011

Lemon Pound Cake Story: When There’s a Will, There’s a Way. Eventhough There’s no Water

Have you ever done something, thinking that it was a great idea, but halfway through you realized it was so dumb? I’m notorious for doing exactly that. Yesterday my landlord sent all of the tenants note saying that there will be no water from 1-3pm today. Before I went to bed last night, I kept reminding myself about it. See, ever since I’ve become a mother, I often have brain farts. No kidding. Once, 2 hours after I put the rice and water in the rice cooker, I wondered why it hadn’t “ding”ed yet. I didn’t press the cook button….

Today, surprisingly both kids were behaving well. No one’s nagging Mommy for this or that. So I decided to make the long postponed lemon pound cake my husband has been asking for. And you know what? While at it, why not make some whole wheat bread too? So after I kneaded the bread dough and leave it to rise, I made the lemon pound cake. All was good. The boy even helped a little bit by trying to squeeze the lemon juice. The girl was playing quietly by herself in the bouncer. Life was beautiful. Until…..

I freaking realized, there’s no water. Smart, eh? Right now, my kitchen sink is filled with dirty dishes. I was the clean-as-you-go kind of cook. So once I used the bowl/spoon/whatever, they’ll be washed immediately. My OCD-self cannot stand the thought of being unable to wash them right away. And I keep on cursing myself for not waiting until at least tomorrow to make the lemon pound cake. Continue reading